Drayton's Gazette discusses social and political issues happening around the globe through the eyes of the African American, minority and disaffected communities.

I see him as a mother will always see her son by V.Lyn

I see him in dusty fatigues a photo aged in sun

I hear his silent lament in the most intimate of his final hours

“Death Come to me

release me from this

heavy burden that entombs me

this treacherous thing call life”

I see him as a mother will always see her son

within the eye of my mind

running as laughter adorned the prism of his eyes

and the sun was diminished only by the purity of his soul

I feel his kiss upon my cheek wet and soft the kiss of a 5 year old

I hear his high pitch laugh as he ran besides his friend who is long since gone as well

buried in an arid land for the country that she served

I see him as a mother will always see her son

8 years old gazing up at the father who bore the

uniform before him his small hand held ever so gently ever so safely

I see him with a ball in his hand amazed by the simpliest feat

I see him as only a mother can and my heart begins to weep

a man off to a war his smile

cocky

belying the fear held trapped within his eyes

I see my son as only a mother can a man laid beneath a flag

and I see the forever boy

Leave a Reply

