Drayton's Gazette discusses social and political issues happening around the globe through the eyes of the African American, minority and disaffected communities.

A Hunting: From the Periphery Part III

Have you missed me?

Have you wondered where I’ve been? I know you’ve been curious…I’ve seen the questions in your eyes. I shouldn’t tell you where I’ve been…but of course I will… you are after all my friends… co conspirators in this endeavor. Shhh… I’ve been in country, no longer in the world, hunting in full camo: blending like blackness into the night. Does that sound silly to you? Perhaps even strange? It shouldn’t! You know what I am about, you know that my path is a righteous one, born from necessity.  A current Day Knights Templar serving something greater than myself. I believe for now I am alone- but never lonely- in my quest but one day, one day, I see a legion like me, blending, blending and watching. It’s good what I do just isn’t it? Well isn’t it? I’m fucking talking to you!!! Don’t you hear me!!! Don’t you!!! There are predators among us and they dance like ghost at the periphery of our view…

Now I have your attention don’t I?

Oh I was telling what I’ve been doing. I’ve been the women in your park, in your church, the grocery store, perhaps even at your door. I watch in weary solitude, but I am not alone because I have R I G H T E O U S N E S S on my side. I guard what you value most and most don’t even know.

Have you seen them yet; caught sight of them. Fucking normal aren’t they every fucking day amoral demons…Is that redundant? Probably so but fitting nontheless. Oh I weep for the woman I might have been..yes I do..for what was done to me..but I am alright, better than alright strong strong strong strong…But I wonder who I might have been what I could have been. Did I ever mention I have an IQ of 130, that I served in the military, that I like puzzles and love books of all sorts. Oh someone is coming, at my door. I have to go for now but I’ll be back I promise not to be gone so long next time… I promise to visit YOU where you are.

2 responses

  1. reading your latest stuff perhaps John Wayne was the white Stanley C. Drayton Jr….and your daughter is very lovely. and thanks V. for re-blogging my piece – i really appreciate it. continue…

    May 8, 2012 at 7:40 am

    • No problem on the reblog…and yes my daughter is very lovely, and my father was more than I even posted, unfortunately he has Parkingsons now and has wanted to have his story told for many years. Perhaps as a validation that he truly mattered, made a mark in the world especially coming from an era when most Black men were not viewed as significant. Sadly I am not a great writer, grammer is not my strong suit…oh well.

      May 8, 2012 at 5:45 pm

Leave a Reply

