Drayton's Gazette discusses social and political issues happening around the globe through the eyes of the African American, minority and disaffected communities.

A Little Tour in Yellow

I am reading Why Some Politicians are More Dangerous Than Others by James Gilligan.  The book presents an interesting thesis.  He shows data that correlates a rise in violent crime with periods when a Republican occupies the White House.  The analysis of why this is the case is the interesting part of the book.  I recommend reading this book.

I have reached an argument in his book that I think needs to be checked, however.  It really will not affect his thesis one way or the other, but I don’t think his conclusions are correct.  I am looking for help with this one if anyone reading this blog has ideas.

Specifically Gilligan draws a comparison between what he calls Shame Ethics with Nietzsche’s Master Morality.  He says people who identify with the Shame Ethic also identify with Nietzsche’s Ubermensch, or Superman.  (Pages 104-110)  I don’t think this is…

View original post 507 more words

9 responses

  1. I ordered that book and it arrived yesterday. Haven’t had a chance to read yet as I’m always glued to my computer. But will soon.

    February 5, 2012 at 3:52 am

    • I ordered it also and have it on my nook… I also just purchased Strategic Visions both are waiting for me to read them 🙂

      February 5, 2012 at 4:22 am

      • I think I’m going to try the ol’ “Chapter-a-night-when-I-go-to-bed” option. I usually don’t make it much further than that before my eyelids fall. Hey, I was looking for your post you published about that dime store rapist. Did you delete it? I cannot find it.

        February 5, 2012 at 4:43 am

      • No it’s still there I think it’s on the next page. As far as the book goes there was a time I read a book a night… sometimes two in a day… Of late not so much 🙂
        I saw in a post that you are a libra…me too… so you like physics, are in mensa, live in Nuevo Mexico, politically, socially and ecological concious and are a libra; it’s like I’m your older not as bright sister from another mother 🙂

        February 5, 2012 at 2:15 pm

  2. Crap…. I have been through every post from now back until November. Would you mind posting the link to that post in a comment? For some reason, I’m being very blind. Thanks. Hey, I really wanted to include you and this post in the Versatile Blogger Award I just posted, but since I couldn’t find it, well… I wasn’t able to. I really would like to just post on it as that really moved me. Would this bother you since it is such a persona and sensitive encounter you shared? If you don’t want me to share, I won’t. But it truly is so moving.

    I used to read fanatically too. But not so anymore. With age, it makes me doze off. And ppttthhpphhh (sticking tongue out) to the “not as bright” bullshit you just said. You are so very intelligent – give yourself credit.

    February 5, 2012 at 3:16 pm

    • Hi I actually moved it to the home page for you when you first asked about it.

      February 5, 2012 at 3:26 pm

      • Ha! Found it. Would you mind if I posted about this publishing?

        February 5, 2012 at 3:55 pm

      • You can certainly post about it..

        February 5, 2012 at 4:06 pm

  3. Thank you. With such a personal and sensitive topic, I wanted to ask first. I figured if you didn’t want people to know, you wouldn’t have posted about it. But still, out of respect, I wanted to make sure. Thanks! That posting is one of the most – if not THE most – moving I have ever read, and it needs to be shared.

    February 5, 2012 at 4:19 pm

Leave a Reply

