Drayton's Gazette discusses social and political issues happening around the globe through the eyes of the African American, minority and disaffected communities.

An Email I Received from Bold Progressive .com for Solidarity

PLEASE Sign the petition and show your support for the American workers and then share it with others and email it to:

Stephanie Taylor, Jason Rosenbaum, Adam Green, and the PCCC team


Stand in solidarity against Walker’s radical proposal and threats – sign the open letter

Sign in solidarity:

Gov. Walker has threatened to call out the National Guard against workers who protest his radical plan to cut benefits of middle class workers and strip them of their rights.  

Stand in solidarity with tens of thousands of workers who have been protesting  — sign the open letter on the right.


Letter text: 

Members of the Wisconsin Legislature,

The Associated Press reports, “Gov. Scott Walker says the Wisconsin National Guard is prepared to respond if there is any unrest among state employees in the wake of his announcement that he wants to take away nearly all collective bargaining rights.”

The Governor’s decision to ask the Wisconsin National Guard to be prepared for a fight against nurses, teachers, and other public employees puts Wisconsin firmly on the wrong side of history. The idea that a governor can use the military to impose his personal, political will on the people he governs is a primitive relic of the past – one that resulted in almost a century of bloodshed in this country. It must not be repeated again.

Trying to ram through cuts to the health care and pensions of Wisconsin nurses and teachers – and take away their right to negotiate for fair benefits – is already unacceptable. But the Governor’s threat of military force against Wisconsin citizens who serve their state proudly is even more shameful.

We say “no” to the Governor’s budget — and “no” to the use of the National Guard against the people of Wisconsin. And we ask you to join us.


The Progressive Change Campaign Committee
CREDO Action
Markos Moulitsas, Daily Kos
Patrick Landgraf, President/Business Manager Sheet Metal Workers Local Union #18 AFL-CIO
Mary Rehwald, former Ashland City Councilor
Kent Johnson, Walworth Village Board member
Tammy Downing, President of AFSCME Local 145
Roger Christensen, Past President Local 309 IP&GCU
Justin Givens, AFSCME Local 122, Council 24
Steve Arnold, member UFAS (AFT local 223), member Fitchburg, WI Common Council
Phil Hansotia, Chair: Issues and Resolutions Committee, Door County Democratic Party
Jane Sorley, Shawano County Demoncrats Vice-Chair
Joanne Williams, Sec. Treasurer Walworth Co Democratic Party
Chris Narveson, 2nd Supervisor for the Town of New Glarus, WI
Nathan Timm, Founder of Dane County Grassroots Network
Cindi Haag, Town Clerk, Town of Wilson, Eau Claire County
Ed Garvey, founder Fightingbob.com
Loren Molling, United Transportation Union Local 311: President
Bruce Penny, Past UAW Local 95 President-Janesville, Wi
Val Campbell, Past General Chairman, Green Bay and Western Railroad Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers
Sandra Small, former member of the Milwaukee Public Schools Board of Directors; District 5
Christian Vettrus, AFSCME Local 82 Union Executive Board member
Ernest Korpela, Former State Representative-Ashland, Bayfield, Iron and Price Counties
Dorothy Krause, Fitchburg, WI Common Council Candidate
Richard Spindler, Eau Claire Progressive 93rd Team Leader
David Conley, Douglas County Board Supervisor
Ed Wagner, Alderman, City of Marshfield, Supervisor, Wood County Board of Supervisors
Barbara Hazlett, Secretary, Waushara Area Democratic Party
Daniel Wilcox, Member, Board of Directors, Writers Guild of America, West
Susan Covarrubias, Madison Teachers, Inc. Union, Faculty Representative
Dennis Brault, Vernon County Supervisor
Judy Farrell, past Vice-President Whitewater Education Association
Susan Healy, MTEA Building Rep
Michelle Kleppe, Organizing for America, Regional Field Director
Catherine Frederick, Steward, MATC Part Time Teachers Union
David Hamel, Vice Chair, Marquette county Democratic Party
Steven Pfundtner, Union President, AFSCME WSEU Local 1800 Northeast Wisconsin
Terry Bobbe, Secretary, Democratic Party of Door County
Linda Riesen, Past President, Council 10, WEAC
Shelley Anderson, Vice President, Stoughton Education Association
Yvonne Schutte, Union Steward, National Association of Letter Carriers
Thomas Bauknecht, Langlade Co. Democratic Party Chairman, Antigo Alderman
Elizabeth Marshall, American Federation of Musicians Local 166, board member
Kim Jordan, New London Education Association, WEAC
Colleen Hansen, Past Union President of the Ashwaubenon Education Association
James Collins, Former Chair – Chequamegon Dems of Ashland and Bayfield Counties
Andrew Voelzke, Executive Board member of United SteelWorkers Local 2-209
Denise Ehren, Secretary, AFSCME Local 1131
Gail Lando, Burnett County Democratic Party Vice Chair
Barbara Woodriff, Recording Secretary, Green County Democratic Party
Debbie Kinder, Alder, Wisconsin Dells City Council
Tom Crofton, Chair, Rural Caucus Democratic Party of WI, Richland County Board Supervisor
Susan Lucht, Chief Steward AFSCME local 555


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s